East African Mountains

The East African Mountains, also known as the East African Highlands, are a series of mountain ranges and highlands that stretch from the northern end of the East African Rift system to the southernmost tip of the continent. This region includes the countries of Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda.

The East African Mountains are some of the highest and most rugged mountain ranges in Africa, with peaks that rise to over 4,500 meters (14,700 feet) above sea level. They are also some of the oldest mountains on the continent, formed over millions of years through tectonic activity and volcanic eruptions.

The highest peak in Africa, Mount Kilimanjaro, is located in the East African Mountains in Tanzania and rises to 5,895 meters (19,341 feet) above sea level. Other notable peaks in the region include Mount Kenya, Mount Meru, and the Simien Mountains in Ethiopia.

The East African Mountains are home to a diverse range of flora and fauna, including many endemic species that are found nowhere else in the world. The mountains are also home to numerous ethnic groups and cultures, including the Maasai people in Kenya and Tanzania, and the Oromo people in Ethiopia.

The East African Mountains play an important role in the region's ecology and economy, providing water for agriculture and supporting diverse ecosystems that are important for biodiversity conservation. They also attract millions of visitors each year, who come to hike, climb, and explore the region's stunning landscapes and cultural heritage.